Hardware

How to recover & restore deleted file in SharePoint


The backup hierarchy in SharePoint enables a user to view and restore a version if it has been deleted accidentally. So, in this post, we’ll see the method to recover an older version in SharePoint Library.

Says the blog post on Office.com:

SharePoint doesn’t remove the earlier version you just restored, it creates a copy and makes it the latest version. If your SharePoint lists or libraries are set to track versions, you can restore a previous version of a list item or file.

Restore deleted document version in SharePoint Library

If a document in SharePoint Library or List is deleted accidentally, the action can be reversed. However, for the process to work you’ll need to have your SharePoint lists or libraries set to track versions. Only when this is done, you can restore a previous version of a list item or file. To restore an earlier version of the file in SharePoint, deleted accidentally,

  1. Access SharePoint Library
  2. Go to Version History section
  3. Restore the desired version

Version History is turned on by default in SharePoint, but if you don’t see the Version History command, version history may be turned off.

1] Access SharePoint Library

Go to the SharePoint Quick Launch bar and open the list or library.

(Image source: support.office.com)

If the name of your list or library is not visible, click ‘Site contents’ or ‘View All Site Content’, and then choose the name of your list or library.

2] Go to Version History section

SharePoint Library

Now, right-click on the space between the item or document name and date, and choose ‘Version History’ option from the menu. You might need to scroll the menu to see Version History. There, you’ll see a list of versions of the file as shown in the image above.

3] Restore the desired version

When in the ‘Version History’ dialog, hover your mouse cursor over the version you would like to restore and click the down arrow adjacent to it to get a list of options.

Choose ‘Restore’ option.

When prompted with a message to confirm the replacement of the current version with the one selected, hit the ‘Ok’ button.

Please note that SharePoint doesn’t remove the earlier version you have just chosen to restore. Instead, it creates a copy and makes it the latest version.


You may also like...