Hardware

How to turn on or off Could not reconnect all network drives notifications


If Windows is unable to connect a mapped network drive, it shows a notification. If you are aware of the problem and want to turn off the Could not reconnect all network drives notifications on Windows 10, here is what you have to do. It appears automatically after logging in to your user account.

On Windows 10, it is possible to map a network drive easily. Once you do that, your system can connect the drive automatically at signing in. However, if there is some internal issue and your system could not connect to the network drive, it shows a notification saying Could not reconnect all network drives. It lets users know that there are some issues with the network drives. If you already know about the problem and this notification is making your Action Center cluttered, you can disable it using the Registry Editor.

As you are about to use REGEDIT, it is recommended to create a System Restore point before heading to the steps.

Turn off Could not reconnect all network drives notifications

To turn off Could not reconnect all network drives notifications, follow these steps-

  1. Press Win+R to open the Run prompt.
  2. Type regedit and hit the Enter button.
  3. Click the Yes option.
  4. Navigate to NetworkProvider in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE.
  5. Right-click on it and select New > DWORD (32-bit) Value.
  6. Name it as RestoreConnection.
  7. Keep the Value data as 0.

First, you have to open the Registry Editor on your computer. For that, press Win+R, type regedit and press the Enter button. If the UAC prompt appears, click on the Yes option to get the Registry Editor on your screen.

Once it is opened, navigate to the following path-

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\NetworkProvider

Here you have to create a REG_DWORD value. For that, right-click on the NetworkProvider key and select the New > DWORD (32-bit) Value option.

How to turn on or off Could not reconnect all network drives notifications

Then, name it as RestoreConnection. By default, it comes with a Value data of 0, and you have to keep it that way to disable Could not reconnect all network drives notifications.

How to turn on or off Could not reconnect all network drives notifications

Once the REG_DWORD value is created, close the Registry Editor, sign out of your account, and re-sign into your account to get the change.

In case you want to continue receiving the notifications, navigate to the same path as mentioned above, right-click on the RestoreConnection REG_DWORD value, and select the Delete option.

How to turn on or off Could not reconnect all network drives notifications

Next, click on the Yes option to complete the removal.

Again, you have to log out of your account and re-log into it to get the change.

That’s all!


You may also like...